Bathtub

Leave a comment

October 11, 2012 by adbesserer

The world blinked again

One more strike of the eyelash

Downward

These tiles, this paper

I’m still here

Fold me back into possibility

Only in love, I find this world enough

It’s back to the bathtub

Where memories accumulate

Like lines on a door frame

Marking each year

I used to be a mermaid

When I was small

Awkward, imagined I was beautiful

With my hair swaying like seaweed

Something less innocent happened

cupped breasts

A poke at my back

And fingers inside me

When my mother died,

I tried to count the ceiling tiles

But they stretched out

Scary, infinite like space

Back to the bathtub

Where there is an argument

Inside my ribcage

The one that pumps says,

‘I am aching’

the one that breathes says,

‘you’ll be fine’

«

Leave a comment