Untouched

Leave a comment

June 17, 2017 by adbesserer

Before I hear the shower rush

a sneeze, a cough

the creak of a bed

voices in feeble hush

I like to watch the monsoon rain

hit the flower pots

on the roof across the ring road

A woman sweeps her balcony

with a red broom

Leaves open up like tongues

I can be maudlin and appreciative

in paradox

I can cry

smile at the indifferent Oreo magpie

flick my ashes

wish I could spread my arms across the sea

to hug the people close to me

open my hands

and remember, for an hour,

what it’s like to be

untouched

Leave a Reply

